Anonymous

Should I apply for disability benefits when I move out even though I don’t have a severe disability?

Unless of course you count ADHD, but that is manageable-ish. I do have high functioning autism and auditory processing disorder as well. However my therapist, who I see once a month, told me that I should go on it once I move I’m out.

I do struggle socially, especially with keeping my head above water in a job. I work in customer service and sometimes my sensory issues are getting the best of me, that’s the only thing I’ve told her so far.

I think I would feel guilty going on it but sometimes it’s a bit much for me.

Update:

@Judith I forgot to mention that I believe she mentioned it after I mentioned that I was worried that I won’t be able to keep my job.

Update 2:

But yes, I wholeheartedly agree with you.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Judith
    Lv 7
    2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Keep in mind that your therapist doesn't make the disability decision; Social Security does.  They get the medical records and evaluate them and they make the decision.  Those records must show that you are so severely disabled that you are incapable of working and earning $1220 a month in 2019 and $1260 a month in 2020 in spite of treatment.   Your condition must be that severely disabling for AT LEAST TWELVE MONTHS.   If under age 50 you must be unable to do ANY type of job - not just work you've been doing.  If age 50 or older you must be incapable of doing the same type of work you've done most in the 15 years before becoming disabled.