Why do people believe in religion?

I studied all the scriptures from the Quran to the Bible, and I don’t understand why people believe in it. Especially the concept of “Jesus died for our sins” or “Be like Mohammed” I just don’t understand how a modern human could follow that?? How can some people dedicate their entire lives literally worshipping something they haven’t even seen? Not trying to be judgemental, just genuinely curious. I can understand why a few people might believe in it, but it’s been a global thing for thousands of years. Most people believe in it without even studying it or reading the whole book. Opinions?

33 Answers

Relevance
  • TeeM
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

When God created man and woman, he instilled in them the 'need to worship'.

Just as a person must breath, drink, and eat to continue living.

Mankind must worship.

In place of true worship, people will worship anything close to their heart.

In place of true worship, people will 'create' something or someone to worship.

The whole obligation of man is to find to whom we must give the true worship to.

(Ecclesiastes 12:13) “13 The conclusion of the matter, everything having been heard, is: Fear the true God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole obligation of man.”

(John 4:23, 24) “23 Nevertheless, the hour is coming, and it is now, when the true worshippers will worship the Father with spirit and truth, for indeed, the Father is looking for ones like these to worship him. 24 God is a Spirit, and those worshipping him must worship with spirit and truth.””

• Michael
      Lv 6
      2 months agoReport

The Popular Worship of Faith - https://wol.jw.org/en/wol/d/r1/lp-e/1959044?q=believe+in+religion&p=par

• Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago

At Jw.org there are many answers to questions from the bible for free.

• misty
    Lv 5
    2 months ago

Its mostly due to indoctrination but fear and ignorance also play a part.

• Michael
      Lv 6