I can’t find a job. What can I study in grad school?

I’ve tried for over 3 years to get a job. Everything rejects me and I’m getting aggravated. I’m 26 years old and I have a degree in English Lit. I don’t have any credentials. Obviously people see my English Lit degree and completely disregard me. I guess I need grad school. My generous grandparents offered to pay for grad school for me. What should I study? I am not good at mathematics and computer stuff. My only skill is that I am a good writer. 

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

trades pay well,, colls & unis jobs are a flooded market,

forthought on what occupations are consistently hiring  would have helped

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

Nonsense. English majors have been hired at a faster rate over the past 10 years than engineering majors because companies value good communication skills. Either you're applying for the wrong jobs, or you don't interview well. If you're going to go to grad school, find a technical writing program. Technical writers are in demand, and the salaries are good. 

• Max
      Lv 5
      1 month agoReport

THANK-YOU. Finally someone who isnt condescending and dismissive. Thank you. 5 Stars!

• 1 month ago

So there are 2 scenarios here and you can let us know which it is

1) You only want to get a specific type of job and you are not flexible enough to actually take a job where you might eventually be able to do something you like

2) You are one of the only people on the planet that can't get hired by Starbucks or McDonalds

• Max
      Lv 5
      1 month agoReport

I honestly don’t know what direction you are going with the second one. If youre saying I’m too dumb to even be hired by a fast food/coffee retail chain- up yours Idc what you think. If you are saying I’m too educated for that job- uh tons of people have to work retail. I’ll do it if I fail

• Pearl
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

maybe you could write books if youre a good writer