Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Social SciencePsychology · 1 month ago

Mental asylum?

1.Why do people get put in a mental asylum and is it scary?

2. Is it worse compared to jail?

3. And people who work at a mental asylum is it hard does it take courage and do they you get payed alot?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

Good question I am a trauma nurse who gets floated to the psych unit quite often and Uhmm it’s not so much scary, more sad if anything. 

I mean there are some people that you see that are just so young and in such a state of psychosis it makes you wonder what was triggered in their brains to create such a deep state of psychosis. Scary not really. Delusional people.. yes, but most of the time they are harmless.

I could go on and on with crazy stories about psych patients, from hallucinations to just straight crazy. Many people who end up in emergency psych facilities are simply SI patients (suicide watch). However those with severe mental problems we usually IEA them and send them to the state.  

These are usually psych patients so severe they are living in a completely altered state of mind and unable to fend for themselves. 

Also usually patients who are combative to the point they are hitting, screaming, spitting and sh*tting on walls are locked in a secure room, heavily monitored. 

I have only ever had to break up one fight in the psycho ward and it was seriously so pathetic it was because one of the patients thought another had said the N word when he actually didn’t. 

I see a hell of a lot worse in the ER on a day to day basis. 

The scariest patients I would say are the ones who are completely quiet and out of nowhere will just turn around and f*cking sock you. The quiet ones.. be careful of them haha. They are unpredictable where as most psych patients are very predictable. 

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

Because the chemical straight jacket

Makes suffering easy to self control.

Thanks

Very Best Wishes

Mars