I am a legal permanent resident, and I just moved to California and I plan to stay there. What is my legal state of residency in this case?

Hello,

I just moved to California from Lebanon about two weeks ago, being a green card holder. And I was wondering, What is my legal state of residency? I need it to apply to many things including college and financial aid.

Is California my legal state of residency or do I just not have one? 

Thank you in advance 

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

YOU ARE A LEGAL RESIDENT AND CALIFORNIA MAKE CONSIDER YOU A STATE CITIZEN AS FAR AS STATE VOTING RULES APPLY

• Login to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago

You have one. It's probably, but not definitely, California.

If this is your first time living in the U.S., then it's California.

If you're permanently living in California, then it's California.

If you used to live in another state in the U.S. and you're planning to go back there, but you're visiting California first, then it's the other state.

• 2 months ago

Any US citizen or legal permanent resident who moves to another state, intending to make that their permanent home, work there, etc, is legally resident in the state where they get their primary home as soon as they move in, get their driver's license/state ID, etc. to declare their intent to remain permanently.

However, to qualify for in-state tuition subsidies, you must have resided, worked & paid state taxes for a minimum of one year (some states require minimum 2 yrs residency, paying the state's taxes) prior to going to college/university. Since taxes provide the funds for the subsidies, you don't get any subsidy if you have not been paying the state taxes. Since you just moved to Calif, you will have to reside & work & pay state taxes there for a minimum of a year before you apply for admission to college. Otherwise, you pay out-of-state tuition.