Anonymous

I make great money but I’m miserable at work. What advice do you have?

I’m 30 years old, married with a 1 year old son. I’ve been working in finance for a major bank in Atlanta for 2 years since leaving the Army. 

I earn over 6 figures but 60+ hour weeks are the norm not to mention the commute. I am unhappy and I can tell it is affecting my health. I’ve always been in good shape but now I don’t have time to exercise and I’m gaining weight. 

My wife currently stays home with our son and I want to earn enough to prevent her from being forced to work. That said we do live a pretty conservative lifestyle so we can afford a bit of a pay cut. 

What careers would be a good fit for me without crazy hours? I’m also open to starting a business and have a good amount of money saved, I just don’t know what business I’d start. I’m excellent in math and my degree is from West Point in economics. 

20 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago

Why does your wife need to work while you're earning 6 figures a year??!! There are men who look after their whole family, kid(s) on a lot less.

• Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago

Accounting or other jobs in finance. I saw a blogger doing higher level math e-consultancy, it looked interesting. 

• Frank
    Lv 5
    2 months ago

Wifey can work....you stay at home a couple of days during these "60" hour work weeks...and SHE can get out and do SOMETHING part time...good for HER TOO. Get a PELOTON BIKE. Work on the BIKE during the day.

Commutes should be a BREEZE with AUDIO BOOKS or SATELLITE RADIO - internet options for "learning"

• 2 months ago

I found when I was your age, that skipping exercise was a mistake.  I did it for a year, but it didn't save time, because I got out of shape and tired.  I actually had more energy for the same tasks when I was exercising.