So I am a gay college student.?

I am often studying at the library a lot and have seen this one guy around. One day he asked me to watch his stuff while he went to the bathroom and after he got back we chatted it up. Ever since then whenever we see each other at the library we make a point to chat with each other for a bit before returning to our work. He gives off a vibe that activates my, "gaydar" (I know it's only somewhat scientific of a thing, but my gut is telling me he is), and I have since grown to be attracted to him and would like to ask me out. How do I approach this without either outright asking if he is gay (Which I think is highly inappropiate and I hate when people ask it. Even though I am comfortable with my sexuality I know that not everyone is and it can put them on the spot.) Also I feel like if i ask him and he isn't, then there is a chance at ruining a budding friendship, but if he is, I would like to ask him out on a date. So what should I do?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • Sky
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

My advice is to just ask him out.  There will be one of four possible outcomes:

1.  If he is homophobic or otherwise uncomfortable about gay people, asking him out would expose that fact.  It would end this "budding friendship", but then would you really want to remain friends with someone who's uncomfortable with you or rejects based on the very nature of who you are?  Consider it a dodged bullet.

2.  If he is heterosexual but very much accepting and supporting of LGBT people, he will reject your offer of dating.  You won't have a new boyfriend but you will have a great friend who accepts you exactly as you are.  That kind of friend is irreplaceable and your friendship will be better for you having asked.