Is $27,500 a good price for a mustang GT?

I've been looking for a mustang for a few weeks and came across one that I really liked. I'm new to mustangs so I'm trying to see if this certain one is good for the price or if it's to high. It's a 2015 mustang GT Premium with the performance pack 1, manual with 45,000 miles on it and after going to see it , the lowest they originally wanted was $27,980 for it . Has no warranty and the one they offer is $1,200. Which covers pretty much everything. Went to talk to them about the price and after some talking I was able to get the price to $26,500 plus the warranty which would bring the total to $27,500. Is that a fair deal ?

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

A certified pre-owned list retail for $26,875 and one that is not certified list retail for $25,100. If this is a private seller then it is worth no more than $22,775. Any way you look at it they are asking too much. Offer a dealer $24,000 and walk away if they refuse that offer. Offer a private seller $22,000 and walk if they refuse. Read any warranty they offer very carefully as some are worthless. Also have a trusted mechanic check the car out even though it has low miles. Those could be really hard driven miles. It very well may need a new clutch. 

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

Clean retail (what a dealer would ask for, but not necessarily get) should be right at $27k (without a warranty).  Trade in price should've been around $24k-$24.5k , (could be quite a bit lower though if this car came from an auction)   A realistic selling price would be $25.5K  to a little over $26k.(maybe a little less depending on what they have in the car). 

I would be very, very wary of a third party warranty. These have a bad reputations for a reason. If the warranty is manufacturer-based (I.E. comes from Ford), then that's somewhat better.