Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Beauty & StyleOther - Beauty & Style · 2 months ago

Why do doctors always ask me why I have long nails?

Two visits to the hospital regarding mental health and i'm always asked why I have long nails. I am a male and I just genuinely like having long nails so I can open soda cans and pick up flat items on tables.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • Jerry
    Lv 6
    2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

When you choose to do something that is both highly unusual and highly noticeable, then you're going to get asked about. That's human nature. WHY it's human nature, I can't tell you.

As a nurse, I'd be asking you out of concern. Is there something going on that prevents you from trimming your nails, something like pain, stiffness, or weakness in your fingers? Is there something bad going on in your personal life, like domestic abuse, that's affecting your choices? Is there something psychological going on like obsessive compulsive disorder?

That's part of what doctors and nurses do. Notice anything unusual and question you about it. 

• Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 month ago

They are probably just curious.

• 1 month ago

an 8th' is appropriate,no more docs have to be meticulous in hand & fingernail hygiene.a bot of bias,,but, trim them shorter, keep them clean, easy money,,when I go into a store for a pop or something,if I see the clerk with  long  nails, they are usually dirty too,,I find another store, males w painted nails,ditto, dirty hands,,ditto,live with a social norm on this

• Anonymous
    2 months ago

Yes............

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 2 months ago

So tell them that!

They ask because this is unusual. It's their JOB to notice and ask about unusual behaviour.

Mind you, I don't know exactly what you mean by 'long'. I can open soda cans perfectly well with what I consider normal length nails.

• Most men don't have long nails.