Evelyn asked in SportsHorse Racing · 2 months ago

How do I become a jockey?

I'm 17 though I'll be 18 here soon in December. I love horses and I have some experience with them. I am a bit weight heavy (173-175 pounds) and I know you have to be less than that. I'm 5' 4", but I don't know if I have to be shorter... I am currently unemployed, in high school, and plan on moving out of my mom's after my birthday and live with my boyfriend. I always dreamed about being a jockey when I was a little kid and I still do.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 week ago

You can be an exercise rider or a harness driver, not a jockey at 175.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

You're not going to be a jockey.  Get used to it.

You have "some experience" with horses. At almost 18 a jockey will have been riding for years and have been working in stables since before they left school.  You're 175 lbs at 5'4. You need to lose 50 lbs before even thinking about being a jockey.  5'4 isn't a problem. The weight is.

Google "Lester Piggott". He was a great English jockey. He was 5'8 tall (called "the long fellow") and weighed 112lbs. He was riding professionally at 12.

• 1 month ago

Hdhshsgsgsgsgsggsgege

• 2 months ago

Become a Horse Racing Jockey

Horses are beautiful animals. They are used for all sorts of things, but one of the most glamorous things a horse can do is race. Every year there are 1000s of races around the world and on the back of every horse is a jockey. A jockey’s job is to race a horse from the starting gate to the finish line as fast as possible. If you don’t know much about jockeys watch Jockeys on Animal Planet. It’s a good opportunity to see if this could be the career for you.

Jockeys need to be knowledgeable about breeding, training, performance, and what conditions are ideal for each horse.