Anonymous

What jobs can I get with a history degree?

I'm a recent grad who got a degree in history, and to be honest I really don't want to do anything with in that field. There's not a lot of money to be made, and if there is it's in a handful of jobs that you can't get unless you are well connected. That being said, I've recently come to the realization that I don't know what I want to do career wise, and I'm frustrated with applying for any and all jobs I might find only to heard nothing back. What are some non-history based jobs that a someone with a history degree should apply for? (I'm considering research jobs but I know a lot of them are business and financial in nature....which I don't have any professional experience.)  

19 Answers

Relevance
  • zipper
    Lv 6
    2 months ago

Teacher, proof reader, runner for Grub Hub, gas station attendant, Garbage collector that is about it!

• Login to reply the answers
  • Katie
    Lv 6
    2 months ago

Teaching or working in a museum.

• Lili
      Lv 7
      2 months agoReport

Museum personnel need advanced degrees. I know. I'm a historian who worked for a museum until I recently retired, and I hold a PhD. Teaching at the university level also requires a PhD.  To teach at the secondary level, you need certification. The poster actually doesn't want to work in history.

• 2 months ago

you can use your paper degree to be a history teacher m8

• 2 months ago

Be a librarian or writer 

• Lili
      Lv 7
      2 months agoReport

Librarians need master's degrees in Library and Information Science.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 2 months ago

When I went to college many years ago, we called the History major, "Pre-Cab Driving," because it was so useless.  An employer sees you as a guy who is a little more literate and educated than a high school graduate - nothing more.  AND unfortunately, you have no marketable skills.