How much and what should I pack for my trip to Europe?

I'm going to Europe this summer, from May 11 - June 26 and visiting Oxford and London, England, and then traveling around Italy for the rest of June. I've never been to Europe so I don't know what the weather is like around that time of year! If this (for some reason) helps, I'm a female college student.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Ludwig
    Lv 6
    1 month ago

There is no way of knowing what the weather in Britain will be like next May or June. Britain has weather that is controlled by three different meteorological systems, the Arctic, Continental and Atlantic/Gulf Stream. We have been known to have both drought with a heatwave and snow during those months in recent years. A few thin layers and a light portable rainproof with a hood would be all you really need to take with you. Things you can carry in a bag or a backpack.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago

Most of Europe is cooler during the summer than most of the USA.  That certainly includes the UK, where rain is also probable.  However, it is unlikely to actually be very cold except in the mountains.

Take a water resistant jacket with a hood. It can be a shell or lightly lined, but the water resistant part is important so try to get one in a fabric like Goretex.  

Also take two sweaters (one light, one heavier), a knit hat, a scarf, and light gloves. Take a folding umbrella. You need to carry the jacket, one of the sweaters, and the other items with you aboard the flight (not in your checked luggage).  

https://www.bemytravelmuse.com/wp-content/uploads/...

Having sturdy, water resistant shoes is important. If they need to be "broken in" then do that before you leave home. Few things are worse than wearing not-broken-in shoes when you are on  trip.  

The weather can also be bright and sunny so take sunglasses and a hat.  Take a mix of other clothes so you can layer. 

• 2 months ago