What state am I a resident of?

So I'm 28, I've been moving around a lot the last few years, living in quite a few different states for times ranging from 3 months to a year. How to I go about figuring out what state I'm a resident of. I grew up in Florida but haven't lived there in awhile. I'm trying to figure this out so I know where I could be granted in state tuition next year.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

You're a resident of wherever you're living right now, where your current address is. For in-state tuition, they usually require you live there for a year or two to qualify for in-state tuition. It seems like you won't qualify for in-state tuition anywhere. The only way is on the off-chance you've owned/rented property somewhere for more than a year. Even if you weren't actually living there you could be considered a resident. You would need utility bills or something with your name. Proof of residency varies by school.

• ...Show all comments
    • Matt2 months agoReport

Yeah that's what I found, I just wanted to see if maybe somehow I retained residency for tuition purposes in at least one state but it doesn't appear so. Thank you for your help

• Login to reply the answers
  • di
    Lv 4
    2 months ago

Where is your driver's license from?  Where do you file state income tax?  Check on the web site for the state you're in NOW to see what their definition of state resident is for state student aid and tuition purposes.  Most states definitions range from 6 to 12 months prior to the date of application...  Schools will look at the date of issue on the driver's license - and most state's residence requirements are way longer than the requirement to obtain a state drivers license - for instance, a person may have 30 days to trade in a drivers license from another state and get state tags on a car, but may require 12 months of residence before offering in-state tuition.