Can I use another box to ship at USPS?

This is my first time shipping a package at USPS. However, since they did not have the right sized boxes that I needed, I decided to use a box from my work (Starbucks). Will using another box be cheaper or more expensive? Will they allow it? How does it work?? Do I pay it by weight? And lastly, if they do allow it, do I need to buy a stamp as well or write "priority mail" on the box because I read something like that somewhere. 

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 weeks ago

It will not be cheaper. Shipping cost by weight and there are some restrictions one seize.

• drip
    Lv 7
    3 weeks ago

You pay by weight and size of the box and destination. Take it to the post office. They will put the correct postage  on it. They will put what mailing class you paid for on the box.

Make sure the box is free from all other addresses and bar codes. 

Put your return address and the address of where it is being shipped to. 

I mail from IL to CA.  It is cheaper for me to use a priority mail flat rate box than to use one of my own boxes. 

You can  ask at the postal worker if a flat rate box would be cheaper for you.  It depends on where you are mailing it to and the size/weight. 

Make sure to use mailing tape, not masking tape. 

• 3 weeks ago

You can use ANY suitable by size and sturdy enough for transportation. Up to you to provide a CLEAR label space for your destination address. YES you buy stamps. It is not a FREE service.

You pay by weight and the destination of the box.

The boxes USPS has give a special rate for the box you use.

Priority mail service is for Priority mail envelopes and boxes. It is a package deal.

Your box will go By whatever method you PAY for.

https://www.usps.com/ship/packages.htm

• 3 weeks ago

Yes, you can do that. I've done the same thing.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • MS
    Lv 7
    3 weeks ago