Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Family & RelationshipsFamily · 2 weeks ago

How can I figure out why my 12 year old daughter hates 7th grade if she isn’t opening up to me as much as she did before?

My daughter claims that 7th grade is THE worst. In fact, this specific year has the most drama, immaturity and behavioural issues compared to any other age group. She hates it. This is my firstborn kid and I’m a first-time mother here.... I don’t really know what to do. I have no experience with this issue before. My daughter never felt this way about school during the previous years. 

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Foofa
    Lv 7
    2 weeks ago

Middle school factually IS "the worst". This is a time when half the kids are looking 20 and the rest still look like grader schoolers. This is when all the elementary school friends suddenly have new opportunities and they splinter off into the "jocks", the "nerds", the "alts" or whatever. This is most kids' first exposure to things like sex and drugs and the temptation to succumb to peer pressure is extreme. This is also the age when kids become aware enough to start worrying about school shootings, teachers' strikes and the like. All you can really do is keep the lines of communication open so you know if she's facing any real peril. These are tough years but you can do this, Mom.

• Pearl
    Lv 7
    2 weeks ago

talk to her teachers about it and find out whats going on

• 2 weeks ago

Your daughter is at a cross roads in her life, where she is no longer a little girl but not quite a woman yet! The pre-teen/early teen years, are where girls and guys are trying to find their identity in life, and also girls are awful for being catty at that age due to the hormones.

Also, at 12, your daughter is wanting to form her own identity which means she isn't as close with you when she was say 6/7/8 years old. It doesn't mean she hates you, but it means she's a bit more distant then what she was from a few years ago.