Can someone in the medical field answer this question ?

So last Sunday (10th) I fell ill while I was driving back from my hometown. It started with a mild fever and got worse and worse as the drive went on. By the time I got home I felt so sick I just crawled into bed and slept for 20 hours straight. When I woke up I had a high fever, sore throat, a terrible headache, and was vomiting A LOT. I thought I had the cold or the flu so I made a doctors appointment for the next day. I went and they said I probably had the flu or some type of viral infection, prescribed me cough medicine and nausea medication and sent me on my way. I started to actually get worse than I was before I went. It’s been a little over a week and I still have a fever, migraine, terrible cough and sore throat, and all I want to do is sleep. I’m a college student so I have to walk to class everyday. What I’ve been noticing is that whenever I have to engage in any type of physical activity my cough becomes so violent I can’t breathe and usually have to stop to puke at least twice on my way to class. So my question to y’all is: what is happening to my body? I’ve had a cold and the flu before and this feels different. What is your opinion? 

Update:

So I should not that I have tried mucinex and other cough medicine, I even had prescribed cough medicine. Unfortunately nothing has worked to alleviate my symptoms so far.  

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Kerri
    Lv 4
    2 weeks ago

Sounds like the flu for sure. Symptoms can last anywhere from 3 days to 3 weeks. A past flu experience may have felt different because it was probably a milder flu strain. The cough may linger for months even after all other symptoms are gone. But you should really get back to a dr. Continuing to have fever (over 3 days) warrants further investigation to make sure a pneumonia hasn’t developed.

Source(s): Nurse
  • 3 weeks ago