Anonymous

Would it be bad if I told my boss I don't feel comfortable doing a certain task?

I'm 16 and I've been working at this place for about 2 months now. Last week, they had me go to offsite (a storage place where we put all of our products that we can't fit in the store). I went there and it really freaked me out. There's a bunch of long hallways with doors and some of the lights is the building weren't working. I have anxiety and I'm a very paranoid person. This place scares me so much. We go there at night when it's completely dark outside. We just lift a bunch of boxes, and bring them into our storage rooms.

I have to do this again tonight and I just seriously hate doing this more than anything else. I don't understand why of all people, they choose the weakest looking person to go to a shady storage building. I just want to continue working in the store at the register and stocking shelves where I feel safe.

10 Answers

Relevance
  • Scott
    Lv 6
    3 weeks ago

You are probably "low man" on the totem pole. When you're hired to work for someone, you do what they ask you to do (as long as it's legal) without complaining. It all pays the same. You need to grow up.

• 3 weeks ago

You can "ask" him if he can find someone else to do it but it is part of "your" job so you are expected to do it. Tell him you find it scary. Don't go on and on about ridiculous nonsense like anxiety and paranoia. He might just fire you. Excuses to justify not doing your job won't sit well with an employer. If he finds someone else, great. If he doesn't, then either do your job or find another one.

Source(s): Certified Paralegal, with 25+ years' experience & with Employment law experience.
  • Judy
    Lv 7
    3 weeks ago

He'll very possibly fire you, or he might just take someone else instead. You don't get to pick and choose which tasks you'll do.

• Anonymous
    3 weeks ago

You being "freaked out" is not your bosses problem.