Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationAircraft · 4 weeks ago

best route to becoming an airline pilot?

Im 34, have a 4 yr degree and zero hours of flying.

Go to a local flight school and push it or find a collegiate aviation program?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 weeks ago

I'm a student at a Canadian college studying aviation. While I wouldn't recommend the specific college I attend, I would recommend going the collegiate route. I'm paying about $20 000 CAD a year for 3 years.

By the end I'll have a commercial license roughly 100 hours, a college diploma, IFR and night rating and a guarenteed job as an instructor at my college when I get out.

It's expensive but so is going to a private flight school. Only thing different with college is that there's a lot of hoops to jump through.

Any course I take thats directly related to aviation, I have to maintain a 70% average in. If i get below a 70% I fail the class and get kicked out. Before I write my PPL exam I have to pass a qualifier, If I fail either the qualifier or the real exam I get kicked out. Same thing for my CPL exam.

For you it sounds like time and money are the problems. We probably all wished we could start over and get our dream job but not many people get the opportunity. If this is something you really want to do then do it.

[edit]

The airforce might also be an option if you don't mind selling your rights and becoming a government slave for 10 years.

• Anonymous
    4 weeks ago

You have zero hours of flying and zero license.