Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceTaxesUnited States · 4 weeks ago

Can someone explain how taxes work ?

I’m a 20 year old and I make about $4000 before taxes monthly. Every week I make $1000 but after taxes is taken out I take home about $818 so I make $3200. Someone told me today that I should’ve been filing as exempt but I’m not sure how true that is considering I make $48000 a year. Another question is do I have to file? This is my first year filing and since I know I’m not gonna get much back I don’t feel like really wasting my time doing all the paperwork to file. I heard you can go a few years without filing before it becomes a crime.

14 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    4 weeks ago

perhaps i can help.

• Amy
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

You are legally required to file. 

If you don't file and you are owed a refund, the IRS isn't going to harass you to take your money. But you'll want to have your tax return on record to prove that you don't owe them money, and to prove your income when e.g. applying for a mortgage.Filing can be done online, and it is very simple if you have only one source of income and nothing unusual to deduct.

• 4 weeks ago

A bit of advice....

Never take advice from the person that told you that you should file Exempt......about anything.......

• cosmo
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

You are legally required to file a tax return.  True, they won't actually throw you in jail for a few years, but not filing can cause other bad things to happen.

It may be worth your while to pay a professional to do your tax return, because it's complicated and there may be numerous legal ways to minimize your taxes and maximize your return.  The improvement in your tax rate will quite possibly compensate for the fee of a paid preparer.

Alternatively, the on-line version of some of the tax programs (TurboTax, etc.) are very cheap, but they won't intelligently hunt down tax deductions for you.