Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetProgramming & Design · 4 weeks ago

Im planning to learn scripting, coding, how hard is it? is it ok to start at age 17?

I am planning to be an electrical engineer and for that I need to learn to program / write code. I heard it is as difficult as learning French, is this true? How much should I spend each day learning to code to understand it well in couple years. How much should I know if I want to be an electrical, circuit engineer? Im more interested in designing circuits and electronics then programming, can't someone do the programming for me?

I also don't know where to start because I can't design electronics yet. I got to a high school that teaches about the topic. Im currently in second year (did not fail, personal reasons why im still in second grade of high school at 17). Should I start by learning to program software? What language should I start with? Many thx!

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 weeks ago
    Favorite Answer

Yes it's okay to start, and no...French is much more involved than programming. 

You'll probably find it significantly easier than your EE studies. 

About half the EEs I worked with over 15 or so years of embedded programming were also decent programmers and often the ones who wrote driver code for the hardware they designed.  That was in smaller companies and small teams, though.  You may run into more structure and regimentation in larger firms.

The thing that programming and engineering have in common is that they're both about problem solving.   You don't really have to like it, but it is a cool skill to have--even if you're not writing code to be part of a final product.  It's nice to have a computer do boring rote work for you, and not all of that is covered by existing apps.