I CANT WRITE MY OWN SONGS?

So im 23 years old and i have been doing Karaoke for about 5 years. Singing is just one of my hobbies. But every week people tell me im amazing and i should go to all differant singing contests and stuff.

i done a few covers of some songs but im at the point now where i want to write my own lyrics. ive been using instrumentals off youtube to practice but i just cant do it.

its like i mentally cannot proccess words that ryhme. i have no clue if this is something to do with my ADHD but every time i write some, it will take me half an hour to think of 4 lines and i cant help but look at it and think its rubbish, and then give up.

Is there anyone out there that can give me some tips on songwriting please?

i do apologise for the bad spelling

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Me2
    Lv 7
    3 weeks ago

Songwriting has nothing to do with vocal ability.

A couple of quite true statements made earlier are "you have to be prepared to write lots ... that you just end up throwing away" and "Study...Study...Study...".  Understand grammar and sentence structure, and use them.  Read good writing, both moving lyrics and compelling literature, making an effort to learn why they are effective.

Author Larry Niven wrote for TEN YEARS without selling anything, and became one of the greatest writers in a difficult genre.  Having trouble early on means very little.

Three excellent books that I recommend to every songwriter are Sheila Davis's The Craft of Lyric Writing, The Songwriter's Idea Book, and Successful Lyric Writing (an actual course), which are required reading in songwriting classes.

Songs are music and lyrics, and some composers can do both.  Others form partnerships, with each skilled in one aspect or the other.  If you take some music studies and find you're good at that part, work with another writer with weak musical abilities.