Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceOther - Education · 3 weeks ago

I'm 27, unemployed, and don't know what career I want.?

I got married at the age of 17, and 3 kids later, still married to an amazing man man who supports me in every way.

I have my Bachelors in Nursing, and worked as a nurse for 2 yrs but hated it so much, that I eventually quit. But I was a damn good nurse.

I feel by now I should have my life figured out and I don't. I don;t know what career suits me. My husband makes enough for me not to work, but I don't want to waste my life away as a wife/mother only. I need more.

A little about me: during my college days, criminal justice classes were my absolute favorite. Social sciences are my strongest areas. But didn't pursue as I saw not that many jobs and if any low -paying. I know it sounds horrible, but I want something prestigious/challenging/good prospects/and good paying 70K +.

For some time, I thought of medical school, but hated healthcare during my time as a nurse. so who am I kidding? Most docs I talked to, advised against it., scary. From time and time again I compare myself to my BF from high school who just started her residency. It's weird sometimes I feel like I'm chasing her dream, not mine. Why?

I feel tired all the time, like I have nothing to look forward to. I always pictured my self doing great things, being successful, yet I feel as a failure in everything including being a wife and mother.

I read somewhere, (and there is a lot of different types of suffering for different reasons), that "one of the worst sufferings in life, is not knowing what to do". 

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    3 weeks ago
    Favorite Answer