If I’am found guilty of marriage fraud, what next?

I have been fighting marriage fraud for several years now, during this period i have been planning in the event i am deported.I remarried and had my I-130 approved but the adjustment of status was denied until I can close the fraud case. So far i have a 50/50 chance of overcoming this hurdle. I was told by my lawyer that if we are successful i would be able to apply for citizenship. But i would like to know in the event I am not successful would i be arrested on the spot, given time to self deport or is there an appeal option.. I just want to be prepared to depart.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Foofa
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

Probably depends on where this is taking place. In some parts even judges have been known to help sneak pending deportees out of courtrooms. In other places the rule of law is still observed.

• 1 month ago

Lacking a number of details here, but your chances of prevailing in a marriage fraud case are probably far less than 50-50. If you remained in US after separating from first US spouse & before you had removed conditions on your conditional (temporary) green card to get the permanent (10-yr) GC, you were not legally present in US. That makes the remarriage appear to be a prima facie case of marriage fraud. Would that be your second fraudulent marriage, or the first? Any violation of fiancé/spouse visa or conditional GC reduces your chances further since your permission to stay in US granted due to marriage ended the minute the marriage ended in separation, divorce, or abandonment of the marital home.