Traveling with Amtrak for the first time.?

This is my first time traveling Amtrak, and I just have a few questions. First question being my train departs at 11:12 AM how much time in advance should I arrive to the train station? Do I have to check in first even though I already have my tickets pre-load onto my wallet app on my iPhone? Or when I get to the train station do I just wait outside for my train? Also second question being, I am not checking a bag I’m just bringing a carry-on purse and a carry-on backpack, will my bags be checked and locked into prior to boarding the train? Almost like how it is done before going on an airplane. Also if it helps I am leaving out through New London Connecticut Amtrak train station. Also if my bag is to be checked prior to boarding the train, Will it be OK that I am bringing a bottle of whiskey with me? I am bringing it as a birthday present for my friend. It’s a custom bottle. Also I have attached an image that comes up when I look up my ticket on the Amtrak app can someone please tell me what that means. I have also looked and I see that my train leaving from New London Connecticut is a North East regional train but, I still don’t understand what that message really means. If someone could explain it to me that would be great. Thank you so very much. 

Attachment image

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 weeks ago

First question being my train departs at 11:12 AM how much time in advance should I arrive to the train station?

On the platform 30 minutes before departure.

Somewhere in the parking lot or front door of station is not the platform.

Do I have to check in first

Usually NO there can be a ticket check before you get to platform . Depends on station.

will my bags be checked.? They can be.

Usually not.

New London Connecticut Amtrak train station.

https://www.amtrak.com/stations/nlc

IF you are an Adult over age 21 you can carry a bottle on the train. YOU CANNOT drink from it on board.