Moving out at 18?

Hi I’m 18 and I live in a toxic environment at home. I’m still a highschool student but I have a stable job. If I run away from home, can my parents do anything about it? I also still want to attend school and graduate and I’m afraid my parents will report to the school that I ran away from home. Will the school do anything about it? Can the school get me in trouble and send me back to my parents?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    3 weeks ago

If you are 18, you are of legal age in the US and you can do as you want.

• Anonymous
    3 weeks ago

In the words of an old song, Isabella, "Running away will never change you. It will only change the view."  This song applies to you right now, in more ways than one.

What you need to do is make an effort to SOLVE whatever problem is happening in your house, instead of just throwing in the towel and quitting. Lots of teens your age have issues with their parents. You may be 18 years old and a legal adult, but until you graduate from high school, you are still dependent on your parents for just about everything you need. Running away isn't going to change that- and worse, it may give your parents a real reason to disown you and kick you out of their lives for good.