what is the eligibility criteria of becoming an ias?

2 Answers

  • 4 weeks ago

    Candidates aspiring to appear in the civil services examinations have to ensure that they meet the prescribed eligibility criteria for attempting the examination.


    Candidates in the age group of 21 years to 32 years on 1st August of the year of examination can appear in the general category. Relaxation in the upper age limit is available for OBC, SC, ST and other categories of aspirants

    The age relaxation would be provided to the candidates of reserved categories

    1)SC/ST: 5 years

    2)OBC: 3 years

    3)Defense service personnel: 3 years.

    4)Ex-servicemen including commissioned officers ECOs/SSCOs: 5 years


    Aspirants should have graduated from any recognized university. It is immaterial if the degree is a three year or four year, or if it is a full time or if it has been acquired under a distance education program, through correspondence. Candidates who have pursued professional and technical courses should have done so from recognized universities only. Students in their final year of graduation can also apply pending declaration of their results.

    Attempts allowed

    general  6

    obc        9

    sc/st       no limit

    for more ias info: IAS Coaching Info

  • 4 weeks ago

    wo kcoockckwokccwc

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.