Zack
Lv 7
Zack asked in Cars & TransportationAircraft · 1 month ago

What prevents an airliner door from being opened at low altitude?

An airplane door can't be opened at cruising altitude due to the pressure difference between the inside and outside, but what prevents some crazy passenger from opening the door at altitudes below 10,000 feet?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

An airplane is pressurized almost from the moment the engine starts. I had this altitude indicator with me once I flew about 20 years ago (I am an aerospace engineer, and was curious about this, since pressurization is not my field -- I am a performance engineer), and I noticed that the flight display was claiming we were at 6000 feet while my gauge was showing about 2000 feet pressure altitude in the cabin.

So in essence, the cabin pressure is not the same as the exterior one unless you are below 1000 feet or so. Above that, the pressure is some kind of ratio.

As a consequence, the cabin pressure is keeping the door shut almost from the start.

• 4 weeks ago

Its called the  D.B. Cooper switch. 

• 1 month ago

The door is actually pushed hard up against the surrounding fuselage of the plane once the cabin is pressurised and pressurisation takes place on the ground well before take off.  The door is not held against the outside of the fuselage, it's pushed against the inside.

At engine start the cabin pressure is held at ambient (outside).

As the plane climbs the outside pressure falls but so also does the cabin pressure (to reduce stress on the airframe) so that the cabin pressure falls to the equivalent of 8,000ft.  There is always a difference in pressure between the cabin (higher pressure) and outside (lower pressure).

The plane spends 90% of the time above 8,000ft.