What are the best cheap anti-virus programs?

My anti-virus protection is running out and I'm a broke college student. What do you think is a good cheaper anti-virus? I'm looking for something under $50 a year. I've currently got a limited free version of total AV downloaded and my university recommends Sophos. Should I download the full versions of one of those two? Are they any good?

22 Answers

Relevance
  • AAAJ
    Lv 5
    3 weeks ago

Try 360 Total Security. It's free & provide full protection

• 1 month ago

How cheap you want to go? Two very good freebies are Bitdefender and Kaspersky.

• 1 month ago

There is a big collection of antivirus i.e. Nortan, Quickheal etc. and ranges from $30 - $50.  

Attachment image
  • 1 month ago

Avg that you have to pay for is about $30 to $40 but we'll with it. 

Sometimes Norton would offer a special pricing on their anti virus software 

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    1 month ago

Actually I liked Avira.  It is free and unlike other AV programs, it actually will fix errors in your computer that it sees.(that blew me away)

Right now I am using Windows Defender which comes with Windows.  It is free and does everything any of the other AV does.  It's updates go to the other AV's as they get no idea of what M$ has discovered.  So until M$ discovers it the other AV programs are "stupid"

Windows defender does not slow the computer down.  Avira didn't either and I had the free version.  For years.  Just have not gotten around to installing it again as a M$ tech removed my AV when I was having a problem(but that was not the issue)  [It was a browser problem that killed my computer's speed.] I found that out myself and eliminated that particular browser.  In this case, UC browser.

• 1 month ago