Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationMaintenance & Repairs · 4 weeks ago

If I keep using unbranded gasoline only, will it damage my car in any way?

I have 2015 Kia Rio. I've been using unbranded gas mostly for the past 4 years. So far no problems and everything seems fine.

Top tier I'm not sure if it's even necessary. The car manual only says it should be 87 octane unleaded. It never mentions anything else.

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 weeks ago
    Best Answer

Top Tier is a trademark, Kia has decided to not endorse that trademarked product. If you buy products labelled "Top Tier" you increase your odds of consistently getting a product that can keep your fuel system cleaner and operating efficiently.

It is possible you are still buying fuel that is top tier quality when buying from unbranded fuel, but don't buy the argument all fuel leaving a refinery is the same quality. The base stock could be the same, but it is easy to add detergent at the rail when filling trucks.

• 4 weeks ago

Fuel distribution companies buy fuel from the local refinery. Depending where you live, it's probably the same fuel sold all over town. The difference in pricing is a business decision based on volume discounts and acceptable margins. Not every petroleum company has a refinery in every area; they buy from their competition and return the favour as required. End of the day, gas companies just want to sell gas to anyone buying, including to their opposition.

• don r
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

If it was going to mess up anything, it wouldn't take 4 years to do it.

• Anonymous
    4 weeks ago

Branding is companies putting their name on the pumps.   You pay for the name.  Some gas stations just charge more for the name.  The gasoline is the same fuel used by any other station as it is all from a hole in the ground.

.  No hurt car in any way.  Just cheaper.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 4 weeks ago

I doubt it very much.