Should I get a DSLR for photography (i'm currently using a Galaxy A50 for photography)?

I want to know if a DSLR would be worth the price if i'm a intermediate photographer

8 Answers

Relevance
  • joedlh
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago
    Best Answer

Cell phone cameras are quite capable today. And they do one thing that dedicated high end cameras don't do: computational photography. One of the aspects of computational photography is to make cell phone photos look like they were taken on cameras with larger sensors and optics.

Let me ask you this: how is your cell phone camera limiting your photography? If you can give a specific, detailed answer to this question, then you probably could benefit from a high end point and shoot, mirrorless, or SLR camera. However, in 99% of the cases where a budding photographer feels the need to "take it to the next level", their real problem is a skill set that needs improving. Buying a more capable camera is not going to address that problem. Taking a class, reading up, or picking the brains of an experienced photographer would be a better approach. An unskilled photographer who takes only snapshots will still only get snapshots if they buy a $60,000 Hasselblad.

• 2 weeks ago

If you are truly interested in photography and you are willing to put in the time and effort required to learn, definitely go for a beginner's DSLR like the Canon EOS 250D or a mirrorless camera like the EOS M50.

• 4 weeks ago

Only buy a DSLR if you're serious about photography .

A cell phone can NOT replace a DSLR ...

• keerok
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

If you're getting great shots with you're phone already, why switch?

DSLRs are cumbersome for taking selfies.

DSLRs have a steep learning curve.

DSLRs don't automatically make you a good photographer.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 4 weeks ago