Laptop keeps going into sleep, battery settings configured correctly.. I have five years of experience in IT, fyi, its not something stupid.?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 weeks ago

most laptops come with diagnostics for the battery you should run those checks it may need re-training(fully charge it, remove the psu, use the pc until it is fully depleted, then reconnect and fully charge it this helps the BIOS save details about the battery CELLS so it knows when to tell YOU when to plug in the charger, note batteries may also self repair these days so its important to diagnose them and re-train them regularly). Dont forget most settings are duplicated for On PSU power and on Battery power so you may not realise that, and power saving features apply to individual devices and its possible you have a DEFAULTED driver and NOT the current best driver which is not WAKE ON ACTIVITY compliant properly. Typically after a major windows update some drivers including the main CHIPSET ones may get DEFAULTED. This is effectively a flaw with microsoft coding for the implementation of updates. The mainboard chipset would implement features such as what the power button does and how closing the lid of a laptop is dealt with.

• 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately, excessive Windows 10 sleepiness is a common concern these days. Users keep reporting their computers going into sleep mode after an unreasonably short period of time: 3-4 minutes of inactivity are enough to trigger the issue. Some devices are stated to enter Windows 10 sleep mode after 1 minute idle – what a nice way of slacking off at work!

Lucky for us, despite being terribly frustrating, the Win 10 sleep mode problem is pretty fixable.

Here are our top 16 tips to cure your PC’s hypersomnia:

Use Task Manager

Tweak Windows 10 Sleep Mode Settings

Restore Power Plan Defaults

Use Registry Editor

Configure Display Timeout

Optimize Screen Saver Settings

Examine the Battery

Disable the Theme

Update Your OS

Run a System Scan