Anonymous

My cooking class group won't let me cook!?

I'm a freshman in high school who has high functioning Autism. I love to cook, so i'm taking my school's cooking elective. However, I haven't gotten to cook once in this class! In the class, i'm in a kitchen with 3 other kids. None of the kids in my group have special needs. Anyways, my group completely excludes me from the cooking! Whenever I try to help cook, they tell me not to touch anything and they continue to cook without me. For example, we made chocolate chip cookies last week, but my group wouldn't let me help at all! They wouldn't let me crack eggs into the bowl, add the chocolate chips or anything like that when making the dough! They wouldn't even let me help roll the dough into balls! So basically, the other kids in my group do all the cooking but won't let me help cook at all. The ONLY thing they let me do is clean! They've been doing this since the beginning of the school year! It's like they don't even trust me! I've cooked before, and I always help my mom cook at home, but they STILL don't trust me! It's like they're excluding me! What do I do? It hurts my feelings, and it makes it pointless for me to take the cooking class in the first place. I'm probably also failing the class because my group won't let me cook! I'm so sick of it! I'm about to ask my guidance counselor if I can take a different elective instead! Should I just do that? There are other electives at my school I can choose from. Thank you for helping me.

Update:

My cooking teacher knows what's going on, but she won't do anything.

Update 2:

I tried to talk to my group today about how I felt, but they completely ignored me! I'm considering taking a different elective instead. I can learn how to cook at home.

Update 3:

The groups in my cooking class have already been arranged, so I can't just ask to be in a different group.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Linda
    Lv 5
    3 weeks ago