Alex asked in Food & DrinkCooking & Recipes · 1 month ago

Can you recommend a [text]book or something along those lines on cooking?

I'm a novice in the kitchen and would certainly like to learn more, however when you look for books as they relate to cooking, the market is saturated with cookbooks. I'm not looking for recipes, I'm looking for more of the basics. What do you use the many different types of knives for, what are the general uses for different kinds of spices, general cooking techniques, etc. Is there anything that anybody could recommend?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

Joy of Cooking.

Yes, it's a recipe book.. It's also full of information regarding food, food preparation, etc.. It's an all around resource.

• Clive
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

Cookbooks for students are the best as they're written for people who know nothing. You don't say what country you're in but if in the UK, Delia Smith's Cookery Course or "How to Cook" are excellent - they are more than just recipe collections. And you can learn a lot from her web site https://www.deliaonline.com/

As for knives, you don't need many. The only two I ever use are an 8" chef's knife and a smaller serrated vegetable knife, which must be kept SHARP - that makes life much easier. And a potato peeler for peeling potatoes. Chinese cooks only ever use a big cleaver and the chef's knife does that for you. It'll do everything from chopping onions to some butchery on a chicken leg (which I needed to do the other day to cut one into the thigh and the drumstick).

Really, as a man who has always been single, for dinner I tend to go between recipes I have found and like, and just cooking some meat and veg using the instructions on the packets.

• Dimo
    Lv 5
    1 month ago

" ... What do you use the many different types of knives .... "

The different knives make is *easier*, but you really only need on good very sharp knife. A picture the one knife I had -- a hand-down, many decades old: