Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 1 month ago

Is it wise to put all savings and investments in mutual funds?

I'm a beginner to the world of investing, but the way I have been doing this is saving $150 a month to a savings account, $150 a month to mutual funds, and $150 a month to a retirement account. Obviously when as my income increases, so will my monthly saving rates. Unless my little sister is being held for ransom, I will not touch any of it for the next 40 years at retirement age.

But I was thinking--why not put the whole thing in mutual funds since it is the lowest risk and the highest returns?

What would I risk putting everything in mutual funds every month?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

I would strongly advise you to go to at least 3 places. Vanguard, Fidelity, and Morningstar. They have very good sites for investors like yourself. I have no interest in Vanguard but, i have found the best answers on their page. I have also learned that they have some of the lowest costs. Diversity is the key to all investing. People in this forum, mean well, and have some great ideas. Unfortunately or not, we do not know the particulars of your life, and what you are comfortable with. Good luck

• Bryce
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

Keep cash to last six to eight months for emergencies and the rest can go to the mutual fund.

• Sam
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

I think you are doing it right. You may want to look at s&p index fund instead of mutual fund, they are lower costs over the long haul especially and diversified to match the s&p. Have a cash fund liquid for example 4 to 6 months worth, so you could always job hunt if necessary and move if necessary, it will give you a level of comfort.

• Anonymous
    1 month ago

A mutual fund is an investment pool. It is not a specific type of investment. A mutual fund could contain anything from Asian small cap stocks to USA dividend paying stocks to US Treasury bonds or mortgages.