Anonymous
Anonymous asked in TravelAsia PacificKorea · 4 weeks ago

(for non k-pop fans) why do you not like kpop (please be respectful?

please don't say anything racist. i'm genuinely curious. not trying to shove it down anyone's throat but this is an actual question

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 week ago

I liked Kpop wayyyy before it became popular. I've been knowing, for example BTS wayyyy before they were even popular. BTS was lame back than. So honestly, I was soo surpised when I saw BTS suddenly becoming famous, especially in America. I really want to say it's the language honestly, because it's not in my language it's not that appealing anymore to me. I used to watch Youtuber singing English versions of the popular Kpop songs that made me easier or more like help me still like Kpop. But gradually I stopped caring because of the hype really. 

• Andrew
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

I've been living and working in South Korea for many years and I'm a permanent resident of this country, so I've had much more exposure to K-Pop than most people who aren't Korean can say that they've had. 

You ask why I dislike it, and I answer with: "Because it isn't music - it's just packaged bunk." 

K-Pop songs are not written by the artists - they are written by professional songwriters who are contracted by the entertainment company that's releasing them. K-Pop stars are professional singers and dancers who have gone through the training regimen of whichever company they work for. They're conditioned to sing and dance according to a certain standard, they have zero wiggle room to develop any sense of style. Their image is carefully selected for them. Their role in the group is determined by management and they are expected to fulfill that role without deviating from it according to the whims of their management. 

There's no sense of style, no creativity, no individuality in K-Pop at all.