i have a ryzen 2700x and an rx590 what can i upgrade to from these specs on my gaming computer? 4k gaming. Im new to gaming computers.?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 weeks ago

The Ryzen 7 2700x is fine for gaming at 4k but you'd need to upgrade the GPU. Any affordable 4k display can only produce 60fps at the most which makes the 2700x as good as any other CPU at 4k. Other processors like the Ryzen 9 3900x and i9-9900k start to pull ahead of the Ryzen 7 2700x when the framerate is at or above 100fps. And it's not like these processors are leagues ahead of the 2700x which doesn't make a CPU upgrade a good value.

My brother and my son both game at 4k and they both have systems with a +8 core CPU. My brother uses a GTX 1080 and for the most part that card works for him but he has a few complaints. He would like to upgrade the GPU but he doesn't really like the value the RTX 2080 Super or even the 2070 Super brings to the table.

My son has been gaming at 4k for a few years. A couple years ago he upgraded to the GTX 1080ti when it came out and he's been very happy with that card.

Now I'm not suggesting an old 10-Series card but what I am suggesting is to consider newer equivalents (unless you're okay with buying a card off the 2nd hand market).

The RX 5700 and RTX 2060 Super are only slightly faster than a GTX 1080. These cards can run games at 4k but youd have to adjust the settings.

The card I would suggest considering for 4k is the RTX 2070 Super. The 2070 Super can do 4k and it will give you a little more flexibility with the settings. The RTX 2070 Super is on the same performance level as the old GTX 1080ti. The RTX 2080 is only slightly faster than the 2070 Super and it's not a good value unless you can get one for a steal of a price. The RTX 2080 Super is also a nice card but it's not a whole lot faster than the 2070 Super either which doesn't make it a very good value.