Anonymous

New tech dealing with condescending pharmacist? ?

Hi everyone,

I'm a recent grad with a bachelor's in chem and a 2nd major. I currently work as a pharm tech to gain a lot of exposure and knowledge before starting pharmacy school next year. 

I've only been working as a tech for 2 months now and I believe I am dealing with a condescending staff pharmacist. Whenever I ask her a question, she comes off as annoyed. I've never went to tech school so a lot of these things are completely new to me. I'm even teaching myself the sig codes.

The other day, I was typing up prescriptions and I was converting tsp to mL. All I did was ask her "can you remind me how many mL are in a tsp so I can do the dimensional analysis?" 

She responds by saying "how do you not know that? That's the first thing they teach you in tech school. Did you even go to tech school?" I tell her I never went to tech school. Then she says under her breath  "how did you get this job if you've never gone to tech school?" Then she asks the other tech if they taught her sig codes and conversions just to embarrass me I guess. Then she finally tells me that there are 5 mL in a tsp. She went off on a tangent in front of the other tech AND the patient waiting up front. How embarrassing and degrading...... 

I told the sr tech and she said the pharmacist was out of line and unprofessional and that I should report that to the store and pharmacy manager. 

Do any of you have any recommendations for situations like this? Ty very very much. 

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 weeks ago

fresher has to face this problem in every field.

older guys who came up from lower jobs and attained the current status,

are envious of freshly qualified ones who have walked-in into the job.

try to humour her,as you are the one who is need.

as they say every dog has her day.

• 3 weeks ago

Are you a tech in training? Or do you have your tech license already?