How to get a fiancé visa on carers allowance?

I’m a student in college, getting carers allowance and universal credit. Weekly I get £25 from college £66 from carers allowance and £29 from universal credit which totals to £120 per week meaning I get £6,240 per year. 

I’m thinking about trying to get my fiancé to move in but the income requirement is £18,000+ 

I checked online and it says the requirement doesn’t apply to you if you’re on carers allowance but what does that mean? What is the rough requirement for those receiving carers allowance and how do I get my boyfriend to the UK with my income. 

I’m 18 and live with my mum who has disabilities and she gets £12,000 a year. Could we put this money together, even then it doesn’t reach £18,000. What should I do next?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 month ago
    Best Answer

UK answer

''You won't need to meet this financial requirement if you have one or more of the following benefits:

Disability Living Allowance

Severe Disablement Allowance

Industrial Injuries Disablement Benefit

Attendance Allowance

Carer's Allowance

Personal Independence Payment

Armed Forces Independence Payment or Guaranteed Income Payment under the Armed Forces Compensation Scheme

Constant Attendance Allowance, Mobility Supplement or War Disablement Pension under the War Pensions Scheme

Police Injury Pension

If you get one of these benefits, you'll just need to show that you receive enough money to look after your dependant - this is called ‘adequate maintenance’. How much this will be depends on your individual circumstances. You’ll need at least around £120 left per week after you’ve paid for your housing. If you have children you’ll need more than this.

In all cases, the accommodation you will share must be ‘adequate’ and have enough space for your family.''

https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/immigration/visa...