Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Family & RelationshipsMarriage & Divorce · 1 month ago

Should I apologize to my husband's friend's wife?

My husband's friends all have wives who work full time. I did too up until a year ago when we had our twins. I'm a dentist. I plan to practice again when they are old enough for preschool (aka can talk and tell me what is going on). I have been staying up to date by going to conferences etc.

Anyway, his friends wives have not been gracious about my switch to being a SAHM. They talk about the book Lean In and all of that as if I don't already know. They comment about how nice it must be.

I have been smiling and nodding because I literally couldn't care less what these women think. If they really believe working some nursing job is better than raising their kids, that is their perogative. In the more likely scenario that they are jealous, I don't need to rub salt.

My husband is very protective of me and even after telling him I don't care, the other night he finally said to one of the wives who was really being obnoxious to me. He told her that I made more last year than she will make in the next 10 years and that the stress of having a wife who didn't know how to sacrifice killed Sheryl Sandberg's husband so go enjoy that life if she wants it.

She cried and we left. He isn't apologetic at all and I don't know what to say. Should I reach out and apologize? Should I leave it alone? I only care because of my husband's friendship. My husband says leave it and that his friend said she had it coming.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago
    Best Answer

Leave it. She had it coming. You do not have any reason here to apologize for yourself or for your husband. She didn't treat YOU like a friend. So, maybe she's not one.

• 1 month ago

Your husband's friend believes his wife was being catty and had no problem with what your husband did, so let it be. Your husband's friend knows his wife better than you do.

• Ocimom
    Lv 7