Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceRenting & Real Estate · 1 month ago

Is a fifty minute commute awful?

I recently got offered a job in one of the most biggest/evolving cities in my state. The only con is that the rent in this area is a tad pricey for me since I am just starting out in the work field. I found an apartment that would be fifty minutes away from my job (mostly a interstate commute), but my sibling thinks it's more logical to stay closer to my job. 

To live closer to my job is 850-1,000 in rent and then of course I have to pay utilities and internet/cable. The apartment I found is a University apartment near my college I just recently graduated from. They cover water, electricity, wi-fi, heating and air, but I'd have one roommate.

What do you all think? Should I bust my *** to stay in the inner city? or live on the outskirts comfortably and save my money to move into the inner city next year? My sibling thinks I'm not making the best decision because commuting gets very old and tiring - but I'd rather commute to my job than to live in the inner city and struggle to stay afloat.

Update:

Please keep in mind, where I'm originally from (a small town), everyone does fifty minute commutes and I've done it in the past for 3 months and it didn't bother me. I commuted for 8 dollars when I was younger, now I'm getting paid much more.

21 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

What would the costs be for commuting? (think additional wear and tear on the car; gas etc)

• Anonymous
    1 month ago

No. A 1 1/4 commute to work is awful - and 1 1/2 hours home. No life. No time for a life. Retired early though & I'm taking full advantage of my time now.

• Amy
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

Let's say you wake up at 6, leave at 7, work 8-5, get home at 6, cook and eat dinner by 7, and go to bed at 10. That leaves you just 3 hours to do everything else you need or want to do: grocery shopping, watch TV, answer emails, etc.