Anonymous

if math is too hard should I give up?

I'm studying e engineering and most of the time in class I have a hard time understanding things while the majority of students get it much faster. With a good private explanation I usually understand well but is not possible to have one every time for every subject and sometimes I feel very stupid and embarrased if I can't do excersises in group with other students. Right now I'm very frustrated by the amount of things that I have to get done I've been watching some videos but that takes a loooot of time and is very boring I'm fed up and reading a page of a calculus book can take also a lot just for one misaerable page... So.. should I drop out and study something different?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 weeks ago

You would get a better idea about your strengths and weaknesses if you went for an aptitude test administered by the guidance office. As others have said, if math is your weakness, being an engineer is not a job for you.

• drip
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

First talk to your math teacher and your college adviser,

If you are a freshman and this is calculus 1, then you do need to reevaluate your major. You will be taking a lot of math and it is only going to get harder.

Most engineering majors fly though calculus 1 with ease.

• Daniel
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

If you are struggling that much with what sounds like Calc I, then you should probably reassess your goals.  You are looking at taking at least 3 more calculus classes for an engineering major.  You also are going to have to apply those concepts in your engineering classes.  

Sit down with an advisor and your professor to assess what your problems might be and what they think about your ability to succeed in higher level math classes.

• 4 weeks ago