Muzz asked in PetsDogs · 1 month ago

How to help my dog?

My 11 year old female dog started becoming incontinent.  She started about 3 weeks ago by urinating on my bed.  I am a former nurse aide and know about incontinence.  I placed her in doggy diapers at night only.  She will not go while awake.  During the day she's fine.  Normal bathroom schedule.  She's eating, drinking normal also.  At night she starts wandering as an Alzheimer's patient does and is confused.  Tonight, she had a #2 accident in her diaper and a #1 also.  

I'm concerned it's dementia.  I love her dearly and it's breaking my heart to see her like this.  She's the smartest I've ever owned.  

When we moved 5 years ago she went around gathering her "buried" bones in the house.  She remembered exactly where all of them were hidden.  

How do I help her?

Thanks

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 weeks ago

You seek medical advice. It maybe her incontinence is caused  by a easily treated medical condition.  Is she spayed as older spayed dog can develope spaying incontinence which is easily treated with medication. You need to make a vet appointment and get her a check up. Take a fresh urine sample from her so the vet can do a basic dip test. Older dogs are like humans prone to age related health issues like hearing and sight issues,  arthritis   etc so need extra care . They can sometimes become abit  confused it's just part of getting old I'm afraid.  As owners all we can do is make sure what time we have left together we make the most of and  love them.

• 1 month ago

I think you are doing good in your care for her. What you are already doing is the things I would suggest you do.

How does she get up & down from your bed?

What size/breed is she?

Is getting up & down hard for her? (her size)

Make her a bed on your bed that you can put plastic pad under her bed so urine won't go through to your bed. I think it may come to medication helping control the loss of urine.