cheap turntable recommendations?

So I’ve had a Crosley suitcase style record player since 2016, and I’ve noticed that when playing records over the past year I could hear the little crackling/‘chhh’ noise in the background, which I don’t think it supposed to happen (I’d rather have them sound as clear as possible).

I’ve also heard that the suitcase turntables can damage your records over time, and a) I’m starting to worry a bit, b) I’ve been wanting to get a regular turntable for a while now. 

I want one of good quality, but also I’m a sophomore in high school and most of the money I’m saving is going towards a car/I don’t have much to spare, so I was wondering if you can find any decent record players for around $100-$200 or are the suitcase ones the best you’re gonna get?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 month ago

The stylus is in contact with the grooves, and it can indeed wear out a record every time it is played. Many people would record a new record using cassette tape and CD recordables, and then play the recordings instead of playing the record over and over again, to preserve the vinyl from further damage. In fact a long while back someone invented a laser vinyl record player so that they can play a record without damaging it with a diamond stylus.

Changing the turntable would not eliminate those clicks and pops that are the result of damage to the grooves. To reduce the damage, if you insist on playing the vinyl record over and over again, you need to clean it to remove dust and dirt from the record's surface before playing it. And you may need a new, and good stylus to minimize damage when you play them. Clicks and pops are the main reason I switched over to CDs. You can play a CD a thousand times and it won't get damaged simply because you play it. Scratches to the CD may not even affect its sound in most cases, but a scratch on a vinyl record can make it sound so terrible that you may want to throw it away.

• 1 month ago