How do I show my entire income when my company writes off vehicle allowance on the back end?

I am trying to get a mortgage but I keep getting turned down because of the way my company pays us. I am a courier driver and I use my own vehicle for work. We are employees (not independent contractors). Every day, we have to enter starting and ending mileage. At the end of the week, they take our total miles and calculate the vehicle allowance of $0.545 per mile. If I drive 1500 miles, that would come out to $817.50. If I gross $1000 for the week, they deduct the $817.50 from the gross, which leaves me with $182.50. That is the amount they tax us on via a W2 form. I am then paid the entire 817.50 plus what is left over from the taxed $182.50, which usually comes out to be about $950, give or take. The problem is, the amount that they are deducting as a vehicle allowance is never itemized anywhere, nor documented for the employees anywhere. It basically doesn t exist other than on our pay stubs and our checks/direct deposits. Mortgage lenders will only use what my W2 shows, which is usually less than $10,000 a year, even though I make over $50,000. Is there some way to show my entire gross income on my taxes in this scenario? I ve used 3 CPAs and none of them have ever seen anything like this so they don t know what to do other than file the W2 as is.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

So you get paid by the mile essentially? That sounds like a giant rip off in the first place.

Think here... you gross $1000. They then take out the mileage money (does this make sense?, they take out something that is not part of your gross pay in the first place). Then they tax the leftover amount, and then give you the mileage.... which means that you are getting paid the mileage, but then only actually grossing $200 for the week. Do you see the ripoff here? They should be taxing the $100 AND paying you the mileage on top.

• bsbfrk4111 month agoReport