I just got a job interview, but I'm travelling from 12/14/19-01/20/20. Should I take it?

I just got a job interview but I am travelling home for the holidays. I am a college student that applied for a job in retail. I was looking for jobs because I also don't have a car and I was paying for Lyft all the time. Also, just basic food and necessities. This is my first interview I got out of many applications, but I am worried I will not get the job because of my vacation. What do you think I should do? Thank you :)

11 Answers

Relevance
  • B
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

forget that job, they are looking for people who can work 12/14 through the holiday. look elsewhere.

• Sarah
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

I think you should talk to your resident advisor about being able to stay on campus throughout winter break and see what happens. You could schedule a few days off to travel home, but that's over a month and 12/14 is the busiest season in retail because people are shopping for presents. If you were offered an interview and you had it, you should call back and say you are willing to work during most of that time, but ask for a specific day off. (Honestly, if someone wanted to have that much time off within a year or so of employment at anytime, especially the busiest time of the year, I would not really consider them.)

• Judy
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

Don't bother. They need someone who can work right up to Christmas Eve, then the week afterwards.

• 1 month ago

Holiday retail jobs need people who can work right up until the holiday, perhaps through the year-end sale after Christmas. If you cannot work until the holiday, you're not too likely to get the job.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 month ago

Call the person who contacted you.  Explain the reality of your situation and ask if they would still be interested in interviewing you (or hiring you) if you are unavailable to work during their busiest season. 

• audrey