J.R. asked in Business & FinanceInsurance · 1 month ago

I want to know if I am covered under my mother in laws homeowners policy if she is deceased and I have been paying the premiums for 2 years?

16 Answers

Relevance
  • car253
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

Not sure. You should ask your insurance agent or company for a copy of the insurance policy. Each company is different. You might want to post your company for more help.

In general, you need to change the name on the policy to The estate of ___ (whoever is deceased). Usually homeowners policies cover the family as long as the family lives there.

But each company is different. You should call and check with your insurance agent or company to be sure. Very important you find this out ASAP.

• B
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

call the insurer, don't ask yahoo

• 1 month ago

That would depend on how it’s worded.

• Shay
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

If something had happened during the first month after death - maybe.  The company might see it as a transitional period in which you had not had time to update the policy.

But - you have had TWO YEARS to update the information and transfer things from her name to your name.

You can't keep a policy that is in a deceased person's name.  It makes the policy void.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 month ago

The estate is covered...perhaps. However, renewing the policy of a deceased individual often voids coverage...2 years later...they could deny coverage and return your premium.

If you haven't actually addressed the ownership, you need to purchase a policy in the name of the estate. The owners of the home no longer live...let alone at this location...so a HomeOwners policy would not apply...

• 1 month ago

Nope, your name has to be on the policy. If it is still in her name and she is deceased, you just gave away two years of premiums

• Eva
    Lv 7
    1 month ago