What should I do?

Hi.

I'm a Rotary Exchange Student in Denmark and really struggling with homesickness. I am currently living on a small island named Lolland near the bottom of Denmark. I have been here two and half months and would do anything to go home. After arriving in DK I had to change host family's due to some health complications (the animals gave me fleas) I was in this situation for around three weeks and has the flea bites for almost a month. On top of it my class in school doesn't want an exchange student and puts no effort into talking to me. It seems that every day I come across a new problem. I have been crying every day and night for two weeks even when I am out and seeing new places such as Copenhagen and other cities. I am very thankful for this exchange and the money my parents have spent. I keep thinking I took this experience away from someone else but I just miss hugging my parents and feeling loved. I want to stay but my mental health tells me I should go home. Any suggestions... everything helps. :)

6 Answers

Relevance
  • B
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

contact Rotary Exchange headquarters immediately and tell them you'd like out.

• 1 month ago

Go home, study somewhere nearer.

• 1 month ago

You have not given yourself a fair chance to grow up, adapt to a different culture, become more fluent in the language, etc. You are not giving anyone else a fair chance to get to know you, either. You do exchanges like this to challenge yourself, to become more independent, to learn others' culture & lifestyle. Don't throw in the towel just because you want mommy & daddy to hug their baby. You had the guts to sign up, apply, interview, fly to Denmark, etc. You're clearly no little baby. Suck it up. Stick it out.

• 1 month ago

things will pass,eventually.

grin and bear.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 month ago