Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceCareers & EmploymentHealth Care · 1 month ago

I hate my job what do I do now?

I did great in college, 4.0 gpa, and I loved it. Then I got my first job in the career and I hate it. I hate it so much. The whole experience is awful. I can’t go back to college and start over. What should I do? 

I am a registered nurse. Before I graduated I worked as a patient care tech in the hospital. I could not wait to be a nurse. Then after graduation, I took a job in a big trauma university hospital. I’ve been bullied by the other nurses and I have no fight left. I don’t care anymore I just want out.

I don’t want to try as a nurse in a different hospital or office. I have hated this experience so much. I smile at my patients, dread the break room where I’m called stupid by other nurses or other various insults, then cry in my car. No it’s not just name calling. They have lied about my nursing care to the managers, they have followed me to the parking garage taunting and threatening me, and they have insulted me in front of patients, causing some of my patients to lose trust in me.

I have a college degree I wish was in something else, I have a job I hate, I’m miserable. I can’t work as a patient care tech again because as a RN I’ll be held accountable to that license. I’m thinking of revoking my license, then I hate myself for wasting 4 years in college.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

I'm sorry that you're being so mistreated.  If you don't feel as though nursing is for you, in general, especially at this time, please consider looking elsewhere and give the two weeks notice.  I don't work in the nursing field, but I'd heard from various individuals that it has a high burn-out rate.  What an accomplishment to have earned a 4.0!  That is wonderful, and you should be so proud of yourself :)  

• juliet
    Lv 4
    1 month ago