I don t understand what we're doing in class. ICT What is problem solving?

I just started uni and one of the uni s obligatory courses no matter what you study is ICT, or computer science, or computer skills, or whatever you wanna call it.

Here s the thing, I have no background in computer science, other than the basic functions of computers hardware and my ability to use excel ppt and word, I have nothing.

The lecturer started our first lecture bu saying that we are gonna learn how to write an algorithm and then started with "data types"

which are integers, real numbers, strings and boolean. She then went on to give us rules on how to write an assignment statement .

I understand the data types, I understood the rules of the assignment statement but I don t understand what we re doing. What s an algorithm ?What is an assignment statement ? And what is this problem solving thing ? When do technicians write an algorithm ? Is this an app ?

I'm confused.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

ICT means Information Communication Technology, which is fully about computer, algorithms is a topic for introduction to problem solving, it tells you the step by step procedure to solve a problem by using a flow chart to analyze the problem, mind you algorithm is just an instruction.

• 1 month ago

I taught Computer Science for 22 years. I was extremely confused too when I started.  Now I'm teaching my 9 year-old grandson to code (write programs) in Java.

1. Think of an algorithm as instructions to do something for example : Your mom says you can use your XBox  if you finished your homework and you washed the dishes. Here is the algorithm: 

Ask mom if I can use my XBox

Did I finish my homework AND wash the dishes

No AND Yes then finish homework

Yes AND No then wash the dishes 

Yes AND Yes then Use the XBox