Poll: At what point at time did you finally get accustomed to 21st century tech?

Hi. I am a bit curious about this. I admit it took me a long time to get accustomed to it. I have been using the internet since 1995. I had seen and heard about current digital tech in the 2000's but I tuned it out- I acted like it didn't exist. I was still using old-school tech, like floppy disks. I still use floppy disks. My family and I still use landline phones, but I also use current smartphones.

Before the network shut down, I used to watch G4TV:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G4_(American_TV_chan...

They used to showcased some of this tech I was talking about- cell phones, smartphones, tablets, etc. At the time I wasn't interested- I thought it was a bunch of junk and nonsense.

A few years ago, when Obama was still in office, I met a young man at my local library who educated me somewhat about this current tech we have now. He showed me a cellphone or smartphone he was using. He told me these devices and other devices are bugged by the government, if I remember right, ever since 911 happened.

That's not really a surprise- I think the U.S. government's been bugging people's phones since the '70s at least.

I do recall tech companies were putting demands on people to keep up with current tech to an extent. I remember Microsoft kept swaying folks to keep up with Windows upgrades- that got on my nerves.

I presume tech companies stopped because they probably assumed most people have gotten used to some current tech at least to an extent.

Please help- thank you.

Update:

I was using computers since I was a kid, long before commercialized internet access was officialized in 1995.I was just very reluctant to want to assimilate and get accustomed to current digital tech. I like simplicity.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Sky
    Lv 7
    2 months ago
    Best Answer

Not until my VCR, tube TVs, rotary phone, and Commodore 64 collection all quit working.

[I'm not making any of that up.]